The 2009 Carl Zeiss Research Award winners

Did You Know…

… that ZEISS Awards Prizes?

Every two years, ZEISS honors outstanding scientists in the field of optics with the Carl Zeiss Research Award. On 11 November, physicists Rainer Blatt and Ignacio Cirac were awarded the prize in recognition of their work in the research fields of quantum communications and quantum computers. During their many years of close collaboration, experimental physicist Blatt and theorist Cirac have made valuable, pioneering contributions to the new field of quantum information.

Every two years, technology company ZEISS looks for researchers who are laying the foundation for the technical innovations of tomorrow by conducting important fundamental research today. Since 1990, scientists have had the opportunity to submit their best work in optical research for the Carl Zeiss Research Award with its cash prize of € 25,000. It is awarded by the Ernst Abbe Fund in the Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft (Association of Sponsors of German Science).

Twice now, Carl Zeiss Research Award winners have even gone on to receive the highest honor of all: the Nobel Prize! American Eric Cornell won the Carl Zeiss Research Award in 1996 and the Nobel Prize in Physics five years later. Ahmed Zewail was honored with the Research Award in 1992. Then in 1999, this Egyptian chemist received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry. Perhaps this year’s two winners will someday be awarded the Nobel Prize as well.

17 November 2009