ZEISS Research Award

(new from 2016)

There are many different ways ZEISS promotes science. In 1990 the company created the Carl Zeiss Research Award for outstanding achievements in the field of optics. The award has been advertised 13 times and awarded to a total of 20 recipients. Many award-winners have subsequently received other important distinctions e.g. four Carl Zeiss Research Award recipients have won the Nobel Prize.

The ZEISS Research Award, the successor to the Carl Zeiss Research Award, will be conferred for the first time in 2016. This new award continues the principle of the Carl Zeiss Research Award which was bestowed by the Ernst Abbe Fund in the Donors' Association for the Promotion of Sciences and the Humanities in Germany.

The ZEISS Research Award is now presented and sponsored exclusively by ZEISS. Outstanding achievements in international research are honored.

The award is worth a total of 40,000 euros.

  • 2016

    Fedor Jelezko and Jörg Wrachtrup

    Jörg Wrachtrup

    © Photo: David Ausserhofer

    Fedor Jelezko

    © Photo: Elvira Eberhardt

    The winners of the ZEISS Research Award in 2016 are Fedor Jelezko and Jörg Wrachtrup. They have been honored for their outstanding work on quantum technology with optically addressable spins in diamond.

    Diamonds are the focus of the research conducted by Wrachtrup and Jelezko. The researchers deliberately integrate foreign atoms into the diamond lattice. The resulting artificial defects in diamond are very effectively shielded against influences from the surrounding area. This makes it possible to observe their quantum states, for which extremely complex equipment is normally required, even under room conditions. In this way the prepared diamonds can be used to process information at exceptional speed and transmit it with physical encoding (quantum cryptography).

    Researchers have recently discovered that these diamonds can be used for totally different purposes. The scientists have succeeded in proving that diamonds can be used to build sensors which promise to open up new, pioneering applications, e.g. in medical technology for tumor diagnostics or for the navigation of self-driving cars.

    The ZEISS Research Award and the Carl Zeiss Award for Young Researchers will be presented at the ZEISS Symposium Optics in the Digital World on 23 June 2016.

We use cookies on this site. Cookies are small text files that are stored on your computer by websites. Cookies are widely used and help to optimize the pages that you view. By using this site, you agree to their use. more